A Summer with the Maryland Historical Trust – by Andrew Chase

The Maryland Historical Trust (MHT) enjoys hosting interns during the summer months. This year, we asked our interns to share their experiences with all of you! If you enjoy these blogs, please consider applying for an internship with MHT in 2017. 

Andrew Chase Visiting Crimea

The author on a site visit to Crimea, Baltimore City

I am a rising senior at Severna Park High School, and ever since I was young, I have had a profoundly great interest in history. I enjoy reading all sorts of histories, from political to economic to art and architecture. This summer, I spent two months completing an internship with the Maryland Historical Trust, Maryland’s State Historic Preservation Office. During my internship, I was able to get a closer look at Maryland’s history and see how we preserve our past.

Andrew Chase Inventory Files Galore

Learning about records management

Within the Office of Research, Survey, and Registration, I worked with MHT’s Inventory Registrar and Librarian on records management, including various projects involving the architectural survey files which comprise the Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties, housed in MHT’s Library. In addition, I updated records on the database “Medusa”, combed through rediscovered binders of records to find information on historic properties that had been lost over time, and matched unidentified slides of bridges to their inventory numbers. I also had great experiences, ranging from discovering new (to me) technologies, such as the typewriter, and even visiting Crimea (a property in Baltimore), along with the MHT Easement Committee.

Andrew Chase New Technology

Experimenting with historic technology

With all the material I have worked with from across the state, I have seen the great deal of work that goes into preserving Maryland’s historical resources. To me, what is interesting about historic preservation is that one of the most common ways to preserve a historic site is to survey and document the property. MHT’s Library preserves documentation on the entire spectrum of historic sites in Maryland.

Leave a Reply

